Insights & news

EU and US Reach Agreement on Mutual Recognition of Results of GMP Inspections for Veterinary Products

  • 01/06/2023
  • News

On 31 May 2023, the European Union and the United States reached an agreement on the mutual recognition of the results of pharmaceutical Good Manufacturing Practices (GMP) inspections for veterinary products. Pursuant to the agreement, it will be possible to export and sell in the US veterinary products produced in the EU without a prior US inspection of EU producers. The same applies conversely to US products sold in the EU (see, attached press release).

The EU and the US had already concluded a similar agreement for human medicines which was rolled out gradually across the EU and became operational in all EU Member States in July 2019 (see, Van Bael & Bellis Life Sciences News and Insights of 12 July 2019).

The US Food and Drug Administration (FDA) has so far recognised the ability of 16 EU Member States to carry out pharmaceutical GMP inspections of veterinary products. For its part, the EU recognised the FDA as an equivalent authority to carry out such inspections. The US assessment of the remaining competent authorities of the Member States is under way and is scheduled to be completed by July 2024.

Both parties indicated that they also started discussions to extend the scope of the arrangement to human vaccines and plasma-derived medicinal products.

All of this results from the Sectoral Annex for pharmaceutical GMP inspections under the Mutual Recognition Agreement between the EU and the US which provides for the mutual recognition of conformity assessment activities in a range of industries.

 

Attachments:

Key contacts

Related insights

Sign up for updates
    • 17/06/2024
    • News

    Publication of Regulation Revising Variations Framework for Medicines for Human Use

    Today, on 17 June 2024, the Official Journal of the European Union publishes Commission Delegated Regulation (EU) 2024/1701 of 11 March 2024 “amending Regulation (EC) No 1234/2008 as regards the examination of variations to the terms of marketing authorisations for medicinal products for human use”

    Read more
    • 13/06/2024
    • News

    Luxembourg Competition Authority Carries Out Dawn Raids in Life Sciences Industry

    The Luxembourg Competition Authority (LCA) announced today that it carried out on-premise inspections in the life sciences sector targeting suppliers of pharmaceutical and related products (see, attached press release). In keeping with good operating practices, the LCA did not identify the firms which it visited. Likewise, it was not forthcoming with details regarding the practices which it sought to review and only referred to “anticompetitive arrangements”.

    Read more
    • 13/06/2024
    • News

    European Commission Pursues Alleged Member of Pharmaceuticals Cartel Following Settlement with Other Cartel Members

    Today, the European Commission (the Commission) publicly announced that it sent a Statement of Objections to Alchem for that firm’s alleged involvement in a cartel in relation to N-Butylbromide Scopolamine/Hyoscine (SNBB), the active ingredient of the anti-cramp medicine Buscopan® and its generic versions. Earlier, the Commission had concluded a settlement agreement with the other members of the cartel which agreed to the payment of a total fine of EUR 13.4 million

    Read more

Subscribe to our updates

Please select the practice areas you are interested in: *